Home and Call for Papers
Registration (closed)
Important Dates
Submission (closed)
Based on work by smemon87, Creative Commons

Based on work by smemon87, Creative Commons

organized at the
Pompeu Fabra
MTT 2011

Fifth International Conference on Meaning-Text Theory (MTT '11)
8-9 September 2011, Barcelona, Spain


The Conference will be held at the Campus de Comunicació Poblenou of the UPF, C/ Roc Boronat, 138.

Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Campus de la Comunicació - Poble Nou
Roc Boronat 138, 08018 Barcelona

Call for Papers

The Meaning-Text Theory is a holistic linguistic theory characterized in particular by the central position of the lexicon, the primacy of semantics, the importance of the communicative structure (= information structure), and the reliance on dependencies on all levels. MTT has been extensively developed over the last four decades with respect to its coverage of linguistic phenomena and application in a variety of research fields - in particular natural language processing.

After MTT '03 in Paris, MTT '05 in Moscow, MTT '07 in Klagenfurt, and MTT '09 in Montreal, this conference is the fifth in a series that aims at bringing together researchers working on MTT and its implementation in the framework of different natural language processing applications. The conference will be held in conjunction with the      International Conference on Dependency Linguistics to take place immediately before MTT '11. Unlike the previous MTT Conferences, MTT '11 will be organized in terms of thematic tracks. This new format shall help center the conference and stimulate in-depth contributions and discussions at the conference. Submissions are invited on one of the following themes approached from the perspective of MTT or any related framework:

MTT 2011 will be organized in 6 Tracks:

  1. Fundamentals (semantics, syntax, morphology, phonology and their interaction)
    Chair: Sylvain Kahane, Modyco, University Paris Ouest
  2. Dictionaries and Lexical Semantics
    Chairs: Valentina Apresjan, Russian Language Institute, Moscow, and Tilmann Reuther, Alpen-Adria University, Klagenfurt
  3. Collocations
    Chairs: Margarita Alonso Ramos, University of La Coruña, and Leo Wanner, Pompeu Fabra University
  4. Semantic Derivation and Morphology
    Chair: Maarten Janssen, IULA, Pompeu Fabra University
  5. Computational Applications
    Chair: Igor Boguslavsky, Russian Academy of Sciences and Politechnical University of Madrid
  6. Terminology
    Chairs: Amparo Alcina, Jaume I University, Castellon, and Marie-Claude L'Homme, University of Montreal


The registration includes: Coffee breaks, daily lunch buffet, the proceedings, admission to all sessions, and Welcoming Reception

Early registration: by July 7 Normal registration: July 8 – July 25 Late/on-site registration: from July 26 onwards
Regular participants Depling: 150 EUR
MTT 2011: 120 EUR
joint: 200 EUR
Depling: 180 EUR
MTT 2011: 150 EUR
joint: 230 EUR
Depling: 220 EUR
MTT 2011: 200 EUR
joint: 300 EUR
Students Depling: 75 EUR
MTT 2011: 60 EUR
joint: 100 EUR
Depling: 90 EUR
MTT 2011: 75 EUR
joint: 120 EUR
Depling: 110 EUR
MTT 2011: 100 EUR
joint: 200 EUR

Please inscribe yourself at the Depling / MTT registration page


Submissions must be in English. They may not exceed 10 pages in length (including all figures, data, notes, and bibliography) using a 12 point font, printed in one column) and should indicate to which track they are submitted. All submissions should follow this format and the style guidelines. We recommend to use the Microsoft Word template or to adapt their Latex style file or OpenDocument template accordingly. All submissions are to be uploaded in pdf format via Easy Chair



Igor Boguslavsky, Politechnical University of Madrid
Leo Wanner, Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona


Lorraine Baqué, Autonomous University of Barcelona

Invited Speakers:

Ignacio Bosque, Complutense University of Madrid and Spanish Royal Academy
Leonid Iomdin, Russian Academy of Sciences


Track chairs and

Lorraine Baqué, Autonomous University of Barcelona
Maria Auxiliadora Barrios Rodriguez, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
David Beck, University of Alberta
Bernd, Bohnet, University of Stuttgart
Margarita Correia, ILTEC
Béatrice Daille, LINA Laboratoire d'Informatique de Nantes
Dmitry Dobrovolsky, Institute of Russian Language, Russian Academy of Sciences
Pamela Faber, Universidad de Granada
Kim Gerdes, Sorbonne Nouvelle
Boris Iomdin, Institute of Russian Language, Russian Academy of Sciences
Leonid Iomdin, Russian Academy of Sciences
Lydia Iordanskaja, University of Montreal
Anne-Laure Jousse, Druide Informatique Inc.
François Lareau, Macquarie University
Roman Laskowski, Polish Academy of Sciences
Patrick Leroyer, Aarhus Business School
Irina Levontina, Institute of Russian Language, Russian Academy of Sciences
François Maniez, Université Lumière Lyon 2
Igor Mel'cuk, University of Montreal
Jasmina Milicevic, Dalhousie University
Alain Polguère, Université Nancy 2
Agnès Tutin, Université Grenoble 3
Serge Verlinde, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Daniel Weiss, University of Zurich
Robert Zangenfeind, University of Munich